November 20, 2014

NLA-I Writing Awards

Submissions are open again for the NLA- International Writing Awards so if you're a writer, editor or publisher please seriously consider submitting work for these very prestigious awards. Here is the official call for submissions. Feel free to repost this far and wide:


Nominations may be sent to the contact email at

(Columbus, OH) -- NLA-International, a leading organization for activists in the pansexual leather community, is now accepting nominations for its annual writing awards for excellence in SM/leather/fetish writing for books, articles, novels and short fiction, which were first published between 1 January 2014 and 31 December 2014. The deadline for nominations is 31 January 2014. The finalists will be announced in March 2015. The winners will be announced at the National Leather Association's Annual General Meeting. The five award categories are:

Non-Fiction Book (Geoff Mains Award)

Non-Fiction Article (Cynthia Slater Award)

Novel (Pauline Reage Award)

Short Fiction (John Preston Award)

Anthology (Samois Award)

Eligibility for all awards (short fiction, novel, non-fiction book, non-fiction article and anthology) requires first time publication of writing in the 2014 calendar year. If you or someone you know has published a book, article, or story dealing with any aspect of SM, leather, fetish, or kink sexuality please consider nominating it for one of the above awards. Authors and publishers are encouraged to nominate themselves by submitting copies of their work. Nominated works should foster education and promote awareness and a positive image of the leather/SM/fetish community. They should entertain and
educate, while building awareness and tolerance of the community and showcasing the talents of its members. There are no submission fees, but the judges will require either print copies of the nominated work or a digital copy (PDF).

NLA-I has convened a jury of readers whose number includes noted erotica writers, past award winners and leading community activists. The judges are rotated regularly and their names withheld until after judging is complete to prevent lobbying by nominees.

Now in their seventh year, the NLA-I's writing awards have received widespread appreciation and support. A "leather first", they have become the preeminent awards for SM, leather, and fetish writing. Past winners include Laura Antoniou, Gloria Brame, Jack Fritscher, Lee Harrington, Anneke Jacob, Jeff Mann, Jack Rinella, David Stein, Cecilia Tan, Tristan Taormino, Claire Thompson, Alyson Tyler, Rachel Kramer Bussel, Mollena Williams, Annie Cox and Elizabeth Coldwell.

Nominations may be sent to the contact email at

Awards Chair (Interim)

November 16, 2014

The Big Book of Domination

Had a great New York City launch party and reading for The Big Book of Domination on Saturday, November 15 at Purple Passion.

Laura Antoniou, Rachel Kramer Bussel, David Wraith (joining us all the way from St. Louis MO) and I read from the book to an appreciative crowd of erotica lovers. 

Maybe they were so appreciative because of the boozy cupcakes from my favorite place, Prohibition Bakery, and all the Prosecco we went through. But no, I think they had a good time because of the fun erotica readings--and the alcohol.

Right now, if you live in New York, you can get your own signed copy of The Big Book of Domination at Purple Passion (211 W. 20th Street, in Chelsea). These are very special copies as this book is not yet available anywhere else! Amazon won't even have it until November 24th and the book stores may not have it until December. So be one of the first to get your hands on a copy--a signed copy, no less!

And while you're at Purple Passion, check out all the cool stuff they have. You may need it when you're reading the book.  I just want you to be prepared...